Officers, Directors, and Staff

AATJ is governed by a team of elected Executive Officers (President, Vice-President, and Immediate Past President) and an appointed Board of Directors. There must be representation of both pre-collegiate and higher education among the Executive Officers. The duties of the officers are prescribed in the AATJ Bylaws. Currently the administrative offices of the AATJ are located at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

AATJ Officers, 2016-2017

Yoshiko Saito-Abbott
California State University – Monterey Bay
100 Campus Center
Seaside CA. 93955

AATJ Board Vice President/Secretary Yoshiko Saito-Abbott
Yoshiko Mori
Vice President/Secretary
East Asian Languages & Cultures
Georgetown University
Washington, DC 20057-1052

AATJ Annual Spring Conference (AAS-affiilated) Co-Director Yoshiko Mori
Motoko Tabuse
Immediate Past President
Eastern Michigan University
219 Alexander Music Building
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
734- 487-0130. Fax: 734-487-3411

AATJ Board Vice President/Secretary Motoko Tabuse

AATJ Directors, 2016-2017

Nobuko Chikamatsu-Chandler, Annual Spring Conference
(AAS-affiilated) Co-Director
DePaul University

AATJ Annual Spring Conference (AAS-affiilated) Co-Director Nobuko Chikamatsu-Chandler
Mariko Moroishi Wei, Annual Spring Conference
(AAS-affiilated) Co-Director
Purdue University

AATJ Annual Spring Conference (AAS-affiilated) Co-Director Mariko Moroishi Wei
Mieko Avello, Annual Fall Conference
(ACTFL-affiliated) Co-Director
Miami-Palmetto Senior High School, FL

AATJ Annual Fall Conference (ACTFL-affiliated) Co-Director Mieko Avello
Kiyomi Chinen, Annual Fall Conference
(ACTFL-affiliated) Co-Director
California State University, Long Beach

AATJ Annual Fall Conference (ACTFL-affiliated) Co-Director Kiyomi Chinen
Shingo Satsutani, Advocacy Director
College of Du Page

AATJ Advocacy Co-Director William Matsuzaki
Tomoko Takami, National Japanese Exam Director
University of Pennsylvania

AATJ National Japanese Exam Director Tomoko Takami
Masahiro Tanaka, Newsletter Director
United Nations International School, NY

AATJ Newsletter Co-Director Masahiro Tanaka
Eiko Ushida, Professional Development Director

Professional Development Director Eiko Ushida
Kazumi Yamashita-Iverson, Student Activities (Nengajo Contest) Director
Maloney Interdistrict Magnet School, Waterbury, CT

Student Activities Director Kazumi Yamashita-Iverson

AATJ Staff

Kathleen Ajisaka, Deputy Director
     Fall Conference liaison, Japanese Japanese Honor Society, membership, finances and accounting
 Kyoko Hanes, JLPT Coordinator
      Japanese Language Proficiency Test
Susan Schmidt, Executive Director
      Bridging Project, website, publications, National Japanese Exam, JOINT online courses